Five Questions: Jamie G.

Greetings, readers. Now that Amy has left the state I will be taking over this here blog. To get everyone up to speed, my name is Rylan, I’ve been routesetting at Rock’n & Jam’n for over four years and I just started working the front desk. As newly-elected blog administrator, I’ll be keeping things fresh on the internet front. For a start, here’s a brief interview with R&J’s most excellently dreadlocked routesetter and counter employee, Jamie Gatchalian. Look for interviews with more staff members in the coming weeks. Now, on with the questions.

The Tom Brady of Routesetting

1) How often are you mistaken for the Predator?

At least one in five interactions with new people. I avoid dimly lit rooms and hallways as much as possible to alleviate some confusion.

2) You like to claim you don’t boulder. Why is that?

First, I’m really bad at it. And I really like having to remember all the beta for a route. I feel like I have to be incredibly dialed in to send a hard route. (Ed. note: It’s true. Jamie carries around a four-page beta sheet that documents literally every move on some silly 5.13 in Clear Creek. He’ll show it to you, if you ask.)

3) 90% of our conversations at work are Seinfeld quotiations. What’s your favorite episode?

The Man Hands episode. So many good quotes. “Those meaty paws, I feel like I’m dating George ‘The Animal’ Steele.”

4) What’s your favorite climbing hold?

The Baby T-Rex. I’m partial to slopers.

5) Finally, the question we’ve all been waiting for: If you could have played on one album by any artist that was released between 1990 and 1998, what would it be?

No contest, “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers. It’s timeless and groundbreaking.

Maxing and Relaxing

A fascinating fellow, Mr. Gatchalian is. Next time you’re in the gym, be sure to compliment Jamie on his most recent lead cave masterpiece, or maybe just say hey.

5 thoughts on “Five Questions: Jamie G.

  1. I find it fitting you’re standing in front of the Lady Fitness place in the first photo. The second one is just a cheap plug for Rylan’s car.

Leave a Reply

